Visit a 14th Century Dartmoor Longhouse

Authored by Mary
Posted: Friday, April 5, 2019 - 12:22

Higher Uppacott is a medieval farmhouse (longhouse) in which both people and cattle were accommodated under a single roof.  It has been classed as a Grade 1 listed building of national importance because it is one of the few remaining examples of this historic building type, which has retained its lower or shippon end (cattle shelter) in its original unaltered state.

One of the things that makes Higher Uppacott so special is that its development from its medieval beginnings through to the present day is still clearly evident within the fabric of the building. It tells its own story through key architectural features. This development also vividly illustrates the major changes in domestic family life and the social structures of Dartmoor farming folk over the centuries.

A guided visit is the only way to view this remarkable building and a series of dates are now available to book. All tours start at 10:30 am unless otherwise advised, last approximately 1.5 hrs and cost £6.00 pp. Places can be booked by contacting the National Park Visitor Centre at Princetown on 01822 890414 or emailing visit@dartmoor.gov.uk

Dates available are:

Sat 13th April
Mon 22nd April
Sun 5th May
Mon 27th May
Sun 9th June
Fri 28th June (6 pm)
Sun 14th July
Sun 28th July
Wed 7th Aug
Sun 11th Aug
Sat 17th Aug
Wed 21st Aug
Mon 26th Aug

More information can be found here.

Welcome to Devon 247, the county’s newest news, features, blog and sport platform.

This site has merged with The Plymouth Daily to offer even more of the content readers have told us they enjoy so much.

And, as with Plymouth, you can post your own content for free on D247 by clicking here.

Our focus is on positive, community news which, sadly, seems to be in short supply these days.

Thank you for visiting!

The Plymouth Daily - logo